An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Still Recovering

David likes to stuff his cheeks when he eats grapes lol (shirt courtesy of my computer’s paint program lol)

As David and Joshua are enjoying their grapes while watching one of their favorite DuckTales videos, I am sitting in my rocker trying to move as little as possible… My back is apparently seeking vengence with me over the hit it got yesterday evening…

Today is going to be a scooter/wheelchair day for me it looks like.  Good thing we don’t have any appointments to be at.  My van is handicapped accessible, but only in the area of driving.  I couldn’t afford to have it transformed to be able to take on my scooter/wheel chair too.  I barely could afford the van and the hand controls to begin with.

It’s moments like last night at the park, and the resulting days like today, that makes me long for the help of David’s service dog more than ever.  David deserves to get to just be a kid.  To get to go to the park, run around, have fun, play outside, etc… but due to David’s issues with sudden bolting and dangerous stunts paired with my health and my inability to run without getting injured we have to stay indoors way more often than I wish was true…

This isn’t the life I wanted for my sweet little boys.  They need their freedom to just be little kids and I desperately need a helping hand in order to give it to them more often and more safely.

7 Comments

  1. Keep putting out there what you need. It will come.

    • thank-you for the encouragement. I greatly appreciate it ((hugs)) : )

  2. Sherry

    Hope your back is getting better. Hang in there

    • thanks :) and yes, it is much better again now. : )

  3. Sherry

    Glad to hear its better, thinking of you

  4. I blog often and I genuinely thank you for your information.
    This great article has really peaked my interest. I am going to book mark your website
    and keep checking for new details about once per week.
    I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

    • Thanks for your feedback :) You have a great site too. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

