An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Fish and Cookies

Rest in peace my friend. We love you.

Found a local pet shop near my mom’s house that was able and willing to help me with Bubbles and Favorite (I still chuckle every time I say their names lol  David can be so cute sometimes).  Sadly though, by the time we made it there, Bubbles didn’t make it.   They still did what they could for Favorite though and said he has about a 50/50 chance of making it at this point.  Then we had a gentle and friendly moment with Joshua to remind him that he shouldn’t hug and kiss his pet fish.  And of course I reminded David to keep his hands out of the tank from now on and to leave their rocks alone. lol

The kids are taking it pretty well which I am grateful for.  They were sad again when we got back to Grandma’s this morning to pick the fish up because they remembered everything at that point, but the people at the pet store were really great with them and handled everything with an extra dose of kindness and compassion. : )  They’re actually my favorite pet shop too.  Use to go there all the time as a kid.  They’re a small business but they definitely have big hearts and a lot of knowledge.  In fact, if you’re ever in my neck of the woods so to speak, go ahead and stop on in and check them out. : )  Their name is Gupton’s and you can see their website here.

In other news, David and Joshua are definitely full of a lot of energy tonight.  I fell asleep again on them in the back room (worn out from last night and today) and when I woke up they were bouncing around all over the place.  Finally found out why too.  They found the cookies I brought home from the store and ate them all. lol  Oh dear.  I think it’s going to be a looong night again tonight. ; )  Oh well.  at least I got a nap in right?  Bring on the night! lol

Leave a Reply

