An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

I Still Believe In David

my precious son 🙂

It has been a long couple of days recently.  I, for one, am still struggling with my health and David’s ongoing battle with Autism has given us a few extra rounds whether we were ready for them or not.  David has been extra “stimmy” lately and has been running off a lot more than usual too.  Our biggest incident with this in the last couple of days was when his case manager opened the door for him after a meeting at the SCDDO before someone was able to grab his hand (in her defense, this was her first experience with David outside our home) and he of course took off running.  Downtown again.  Busy traffic.  Cars everywhere.  *sigh*I of course dropped everything and ran after him immediately, but man do I hate having to go through this so often.  Caught him right before he jumped the curb for the street.  I was limping a little by the time I caught him though (Ehlers Danlos doesn’t deal kindly with running) so when the case manager caught up with us with Joshua in tow she offered to help me get the kids the rest of the way to the car.  I of course gladly accepted that.  Had to take David there while still gripping the back of his shirt (how I managed to catch him) because he wouldn’t hold my hand.  We created quite the little scene there in those last few minutes.  Oh well…

The meeting with the SCDDO (our county developmental disability organization) didn’t go very well either by the way.  David was having a day where Autism was taking more control than usual and the results were a lot of stimming and disconnection.  I don’t want to go into detail though because what happened, and the attitude and lack of respect from the assessor, still stings and brings out the mama bear in me while also making me want to curl up and just cry.  Plus, if I get started on all the things that went wrong in that meeting, and all the lack of facts and weak (almost non-existent) Autism education, I could fill another entire blog and that’s not what I am wanting to do at this time.  I will say though, that I wish getting help for my son didn’t have to always feel like climbing Mount Everest or fighting Goliath.  We will get there though.  No matter how much others may try to persuade me David has little to no potential and/or that he’s pretty much a lost cause, I refuse to accept that kind of thinking.  I still believe in my son and I always will.  Even when others try to convince me other wise.

One way or another, my son will get the help he needs and be able to show those around him what he’s capable of.  For one, I will never give up.  I believe strongly in my son and his potential to go far if given the help and support he needs.  For another, I have faith God is here for us and I know He won’t let us down.  The help may or may not come in the form I expect or in the timeframe I am wishing for, and David’s highest potential may or may not be all that I hope for, but I know David is worth the fight.

9 Comments

  1. It’s very easy for me to say (like any other ‘outsider’) that things will get a little easier. But at difficult times you need, we all need ! to remember: the easier times, the good times, the smiles, the laughs. Keep strong, you are strong — you show great strength 😉

    • thank-you for the encouragement and support : ) I greatly appreciate it : )

  2. God talks to us through other people. You can when he is doing it because you feel uplifted and a tiny bit surprised. Stay close to the uplifters and keep a spiritual distance from negative people. Prayer is very powerful and I will pray for you and your beautiful children.
    Keep strong because it actually will get easier.

    • thank-you for the encouragement : )

  3. Do not lose hope even when all those around you are predicting a dire future. My now 22 yr old son was totally non-verbal until he was 4, functionally non-verbal til 5, toilet trained at nearly 5, looked right through people and arm flapped. Now, although not without a few challenges and issues, he is LIVING and HOLDING HIS OWN at COLLEGE!!
    Also-Bethany was extremely hyperactive when little and ran away just like David does. But she doesn’t anymore. I realize all children with Autism are different and each will have their own unique outcome- but there is always hope for a better future! don’t let anyone take that away from you!

    • Thank-you so much for your support and the encouragement through sharing your story. I appreciate it greatly ((hugs)) : )

  4. marciakayx

    The truth is the professionals have just seen more autistic kids than we have. They don’t know as much about our child, or any child, than the parents do.

    • The sad truth about this lady is that she hasn’t seen very many at all. She admitted she was going off of a few training books and comments, statements, and regulations made at the state governing level. She was clueless on any of the facts David’s case manager and I brought to the table to counteract her with.

  5. Thank-you all very much for your encouragement and support. I will never give up hope on my precious David, and having friends and supporters like all of you to encourage me and back me up in this means more than I could ever fully express.

    May God bless you all for your kindness and support. ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

