An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

A Day With A Service Dog

The intereview I promised will be posted soon.  When reviewing it for publication, I noticed we accidentally missed a couple of questions (easy to do when you have David running around all over the place lol).  I will try to get it to you as soon as I can though. : )

As for how today went?  Well, we’re all exhausted (except for the ever awake Joshua of course lol) but I think the day went really well over all. : )   I do have to admit I forgot to get a picture of us with Jim and Sebastian while they were here.  Sorry about that everyone.   To say the least, even though the day went well, it was definitely an overwhelming one too. lol

I got to learn a lot though about service dogs and how to handle them and even a little about how to take care of them. : )  I still have a lot of learning and practicing to do, but I am glad to say I made progress today. : )   I even got to work with Sebastian (patient, wonderful dog 🙂 ) so I could get the feel of how to work with a service dog and what it’s like to work with one as well.  I was so nervous at first, but Sebastian and Jim were very patient with me and they were also great teachers. : )

Jim was able to see a lot from David today too which we were both hoping for.  Through observing him at home, around neighbors, and in the mall, Jim was able to get a good first hand look at David and what he struggles with most.  He also got to see David’s creative side which was pretty cool. : )  Some possible hidden issues that I wasn’t aware of though surfaced today too.  I will be trying to get ahold of David’s doctors as soon as I can to see about pursuing a path to find out more.

All in all, David had a really long day with a few meltdowns and a good handful of bolting (although considerably less than usual as he did pretty well about staying near Sebastian at first while we were at the mall 🙂 ).  We’re going to have to work a bit more on his bonding abilities though.  He liked the dog, but rarely agreed to pet him and never agreed to hug him.  He got scared a few times too so we’ll be working with him on that as well.

For now though, I am signing off and am ready to rest.  At least as much as Joshua will let me. 😉  Hope you all had a great day too. : )

2 Comments

  1. Sounds good. I have nominated you for an award. Come over to gentlestitches.com at your leisure and check it out.

Leave a Reply

