An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Back from break :)

they are loving books again and were excited to get more for their collection :)

they are loving books again and were excited to get more for their collection 🙂

It’s been an interesting ride for our household over the last few weeks. I have started struggling with my health again (the reason my break lasted longer than I first intended), got some mixed reports on Joshua’s and David’s health, and I had to wait (and struggle with the doctors) for around 2 and 1/2 weeks just to get back the results from David’s EEG testing (those apparently came back normal this round).

Over all though, we had a good break and I got to spend a lot more time with them and we even learned how to make sugar cookies from scratch this year so that the kids and I could have fun using their new cookie cutters. : )  And thanks to a dear friend of mine, we managed to succeed at the special frosting for them too.  Thanks to her!  (She knows who she is 😉 )

A Thomas book and play set.  Yes, I believe he enjoyed this one. lol :)

A Thomas book and play set. Yes, I believe he enjoyed this one. lol 🙂

I will do my best to catch you all up over the next few posts.  I will also include the sugar cookie and icing recipes and pictures from our adventures over the holidays. : )

We had a very laid back and relaxed Christmas and Christmas eve too which we all needed.  The boys really got into it all this year too which was fun to see.  Paper actually went flying a few times around here, and there wasn’t a battle and pleading process to get the boys out of bed and to give the presents some attention. lol  I hope you are all enjoying the pictures from the big day. : )   Be sure to read the captions under them for a little more story. lol 😉

even excited about the new clothes :)

even excited about the new clothes 🙂

It was good to have a bit of a break from life’s demanding and unending schedules too.  Time to get back to it all though.  Especially the fundraising.  I have to admit, I will be glad when that part of this journey is over and we are able to bring David’s dog home.  I know bringing a full-sized labrador into our home and family will be a job in and of its own, but I also know it will all be worth it.  For one, I love dogs and miss the companionship and playfulness of them.  Two: the boys, although they sometimes don’t show it much, love dogs too.

who else can say their kid was thrilled to find new underwear as a present? lol : )

who else can say their kid was thrilled to find new underwear as a present? lol : )

Three: this won’t be just any dog for us.  It will be one that will also be there to help love, care, and look out for David with me.  I will have an extra set of eyes, paws, and caring heart to help me. 🙂  Even if all our new dog can do is help keep him at my side when we’re out and about and/or help find him and/or get him back for me when David runs off, I will be absolutely thrilled.  Those are the struggles and safety issues that force me to limit David’s childhood so much due to my inability to keep up with him when he does those things.  To be able to give David a little more freedom, and a devoted and trustworthy friend that can go everywhere he does… priceless. 🙂

We got a huge new collection of Thomas movies thanks to a friend who found a bunch at a Goodwill store.  Here is but a small sampling. lol : )

We got a huge new collection of Thomas movies thanks to a friend who found a bunch at a Goodwill store. Here is but a small sampling. lol : )

4 Comments

  1. caffieneplease

    Nice!!! My son absolutely still loves Thomas (he’s 7) and I found that with every movie, there is a new train or two, and once he sees the new movie, he HAS TO GET the new trains, so he can act out the movie with his toys as he is watching it. I hope you don’t have that problem!!! How old is David?

    • David wants all the trains, but I can’t even come close to affording that so we just make do with what he does have. Thankfully he takes it pretty well most days. : ) And he just recently turned 5 this last November. : )

  2. What great photos. My son has always been a fan of Thomas.

Leave a Reply

