An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

We have a sitter!! :D And he’s great! :)

celebrateFor the first time in over 3 years I have finally been able to find a babysitter that I could both trust and afford to come watch the boys for me. I am taking a sign language class now (to help me communicate with my sons) while he comes over to watch the boys.

Tonight was his first night and my boys usually don’t do well with new people in their home. They either get extremely hyper or they get combative and un-cooperative. Let alone if I have to leave them alone with the new people on top of it. (I know that last part from some of my experiences with daycares and nurseries and things in the past.) But when I got home tonight, I was told they were angels and didn’t have any problems. 🙂  Music to my ears!  That was definitely a great moment for me. 🙂

Yes, I know my boys are generally good kids and that they try real hard to behave, but I can’t tell you how rare it is for me to hear such positive praise come from someone that watched them.  Most of the time, the boys are too hyper and sometimes they have trouble or start to struggle or wont be cooperative.   They did really well with this young man though and David has already showed excitement over when he’ll get to see him again. lol  Add all this to the fact that this teenager I hired proved to be a great match for them personality wise (he’s so naturally calm and the boys feed off of that and it calms them down as a result) as well as very trustworthy and full of respect. 😀  I met him through church because he helps watch kids during one of the church groups I go to. : )

In summary, after more than three years, I finally have been able to find a respectable teenager that is good with my kids, that I can fully trust, and that is willing to work for what I can afford vs what everyone else is asking. I feel pretty blessed tonight. : )

6 Comments

  1. Excellent news. All Mothers need some time out now and then. I definitely believe in “it takes a village to raise a child”

  2. josie2shoes

    This post started my morning off with a big smile! I know how difficult it can be to find someone who is not only willing but capable of taking care of kids with special needs… and someone you can trust. It sounds like you’ve been blessed with the perfect helper and that your little guys adore him… win, win, win!! Mommies definitely need a little time off now and then, or they will explode… and that gets messy! ;-))

    • thanks 🙂 and I definitely agree with that last part lol ; )

  3. LOL!! It’s a credit to Mother’s everywhere there are not more explosions and much more mess..

Leave a Reply

