An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Tired But Blessed

It has been a stressful and rough ride for the last few months, but I am happy to report it wasn’t all bad stress.  After the first art show went so badly due to the treatment from the art director in charge of the event, I sought out a new host and was connected to a wonderful lady who brought our show to their town (Haysville) to be shown in an historic home turned art gallery.   I have been working my tail off so to speak since then putting together an official album, setting up the on-line auction, designing the artist cards, and even collecting new art as it started coming in from people who heard what had happened.  It has been very stressful and overwhelming, but I must admit this experience has been an overwhelmingly rewarding one as well.  I feel so blessed and honored to be given this kind of chance to represent so many from the Autism community and to be able to give them a platform and a voice. 🙂

NewspaperWhen I went down to Haysville this evening too in order to meet up with my mom and a friend to start setting up the displays, I took a bit of a detour to a local gas station/convenience store to see if I could find the local newspaper.  I had a writer contact me this last week to do a story on the show and I was told we would be in the paper come today so I was eager to see it.

UntitledTo my surprise and delight though (and definitely excitement 😀 ) I found that we were not just featured in the paper, we were on the front page!  How cool is that?! 😀  And as if all that wasn’t enough, guess who’s painting was viewable through the glass of the newspaper stand machine???  David’s “Service Dog Dreams” painting!  I was such a proud and excited mommy tonight. ^_^  More so than usual even though I am always pretty proud of my little guy. 🙂  When I couldn’t get the stand to work though, I was blessed with the generosity of the employees who gave me the store’s copy so I could still take one home to keep and show my friends and family. 🙂  I am hoping to get more copies tomorrow though so I can hand some out as well. : )

David and Josh at first art showDavid has been really excited about this whole event too.  He loves art and has many times admired the pieces that have come in for his show.  More precious than anything though is those brief moments when clarity kicks in enough for him to realize that all this artwork was also donated to help him raise funds for his dog. 🙂  He is not always able to show it, but he truly does long for his service dog to arrive.  He talks of him/her often and fondly and he already considers his future dog a trusted and dearly loved friend.  He also understands (to a point) the safety, freedom, and comfort his dog will be able to help add to his life.  He also talks of getting to see Jim and Sebastian from Perfect Fit Canines again.  He barely seemed to connect while they were here, but he’s never forgotten them and always gets a huge smile on his face and starts flapping and jumping when he talks of them. 🙂

I must admit all that I have put into this show has truly worn me out and has challenged my health and stability in ways I haven’t felt in long time, but I know it will all be worth it in the end.  And to be honest, in some ways it already is. 🙂  I truly am honored to have the position that DogForDavid and our followers has blessed me with.  When I first started out, I would have never dreamed it could have turned into something this big and I have all of you to thank for that.  I truly do appreciate each and everyone of you from the occasional reader to the devoted follower and everything in between.  Thank-you from the bottom of my heart for your inspiration, support, and encouragement. 🙂

The new show will be debuting at the art gallery this Saturday, May 4th, and will be featured there from 10am to 5 pm every Saturday in May.   I also have completed the official album that goes with the show that can be seen here.  It’s on our facebook page, but you can view the work whether or not you are signed up with the site.  In order to bid on the items though for the silent auction, you will either need an account or you can e-mail me through DogForDavid@rocketmail.com and I will do my best to post your bids for you on your behalf.  As I am able to rest and get my strength and stability back, I will be back to blogging here on a regular basis too.  I miss you all so much and I also miss writing believe it or not.  This mom who didn’t even want to do this blog in the first place due to nerves and not being sure of what to write. lol

volunteer croppedI also am looking for some web based volunteers that can help me keep our website up-to-date and running smoothly and facebook volunteers to help me manage David’s facebook page.  Even though the growth I have been blessed to see for DogForDavid has been exciting and of course a good thing, it also has put a larger workload on my shoulders than I can keep up with on my own.  Any help I receive will allow me to save energy and time for blogging more often and for spending more time with my boys just “hanging out”.  If you can help, please drop me a message in the comments below or send me an e-mail at DogForDavid@rocketmail.com

Thanks everyone! 🙂  And until next time I do encourage you to check out the official album.  These artists worked really hard and as a result have put together a beautiful and unique show. 🙂  Oh and keep your eyes open for our anniversary post coming soon.  We’re celebrating one year at DogForDavid.com on the 8th and will be launching a special contest to help celebrate. : )

3 Comments

  1. Well done!! I see it goes for the month of May. I loved the album. 🙂

    • Thanks 🙂 And I am glad you enjoyed the album 🙂

  2. Cool!!! Getting on the front page is awesome! I had just checked over here last night and noticed how long you had been away, so I’m glad to see this new post this morning and see things have been going well! Your hard work is really paying off! 🙂

Leave a Reply

