An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Mommy’s Little Helper

Ever since Sunday night when I had a major health incident, I have been weaker than normal and finding myself easily winded.  David of course noticed the difference in me and being the caring little buddy that he is, wanted to help me.   The other day he got his chance when I put my shoes on without tying them up yet and sat back to just rest a bit more.  I wasn’t ready to start my day by any means so I wasn’t in a hurry to get my shoes tied.  When I noticed David playing at my feet though, I sat up and saw him messing with my shoe laces.  I asked him what he was doing and he smiled from ear to ear and said “Helping mommy! I tie shoes!”

And tie them he sure did.  Into knots! lol  Several little knots to be exact.  At least he got the laces tight enough for the shoe to stay on my foot though. haha  He was so proud of his accomplishment too that I didn’t have the heart to undo it all and fix it.  So that day, I walked around with knots in my shoe laces and a smile in my heart. : )

Mommy loves you David! ((hugs))  Thank-you for having such a heart of gold and wanting to help. 🙂

David tied mommy's shoes

4 Comments

  1. Sooooooo cute! 🙂

  2. caffieneplease

    What a sweetie pie!

  3. thanks 🙂

  4. What a lovely little boy!

Leave a Reply

