An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Rainbows and Dancing

tired momIt’s been another all nighter for me over here as the boys couldn’t seem to wind down and so definitely were not staying laid down by any means either.  That’s what I get for living with a couple of whirlwinds though. lol  They are finally out now, but it’s almost 5:30 am and I have to be up in an hour and a half so I am afraid if I go to sleep at this point I won’t wake up in time.  A friend of mine is helping me get to the post office to mail off one of the packages from the art show because the weather has turned all rainy again and my van is still broken down at the moment.

Other than the lack of sleep though, yesterday was a pretty good day. 🙂  For the most part we all relaxed around the house and the boys agreed to try something “new” for me.  Buttered toast.  And they liked it. 😀  They have had it before many times, and they have gone back and forth between liking it and acting like they couldn’t even be in the same room as it.  It has been quite some time though since they last tried it for me though so it was pretty cool to see them do so yesterday.  Especially David as he has been getting stubbornly stuck in a phase of “nothing new” for quite some time now and I have been trying to break him of it.

Rainbow for blog1My favorite part of the day though has to be when Joshua discovered a rainbow while he and David were playing on the porch and he rushed inside to tell me about it.  Both boys were very excited about it, and when I saw how big and bright it was I was definitely excited too. 🙂  I tried to take some pictures of it, but the colors came out dull so I used a simple pic editing site a friend of mine told me about to help bring back the brightness of it.  The edited pictures are the ones you can see in this post as they do the rainbow a lot more justice than the original pictures did before the editing. 🙂  Rainbows both captivate and inspire me.  1) They hold so much beauty in such a simple package and 2) for me personally, they hold a lot of meaning.  They always remind me of God’s promises, protection, and love and they tend to have a calming effect on me when I see them because of it. 🙂

Another favorite part was ordering pizza delivery and sitting back and watching some old shows with the boys.  Ever since my mom signed us all up for Netflix, I have been finding a lot of great shows and movies that I miss from when I was a kid as well as from just a few years back and the boys have been finding most of their old favorites that they used to watch while at my mom’s house plus countless new favorites.

Kirby's dance screen shotTonight was a “Suite Life on Deck” night though from the Disney Channel collection.  The boys laugh so much when they watch that show and I love to hear their laughter. 🙂  One of the shows tonight though had a dance in it that David apparently really liked, because he kept doing it himself (or at least his best version of it) once the show was over. lol  I tried to find a small clip of the scene, but I wasn’t having much luck so I took a screen shot instead.  I labeled which show it was on the picture though so if you want to see the actual dance, you can look it up. 🙂  The guy you see dancing in the middle is Kirby, the security guard on the show who, in this episode, was trying to get his GED.  The two teens on either side of him are the show’s stars, Zack and Cody. : )  I will be trying to see if I can get David to do his new dance for me while I have the camera rolling so you all can see it.  He is getting better about allowing me to film him so there’s a chance we will get to capture it soon. 🙂

My lack of sleep is starting to seriously catch up with me now though so I am going to sign off for now and go try to find that second wind to help get me through the morning. lol  Hope you are all having a good morning (or evening for my out of country friends 🙂 ).  Below are more snapshots of the rainbow we all saw today.   I hope you enjoy. : )

Rainbow for blog2

Rainbow for blog3Rainbow for blog4

Rainbow for blog1

3 Comments

  1. Great pictures! I hope to get a good shot of a rainbow someday…

  2. It isn’t easy to take pictures of a rainbow. They are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

