An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

He Makes Me Smile :)

Our sleep patterns have been tossed around a lot over these last few years and last night was no exception.  After having been kept up all night the day before, I ended up falling asleep on the couch as the boys ran wild through the home only to wake back up in time to find it night again and one boy still wide awake.  David.

It was nice though in a lot of ways.  There wasn’t much that could be done given the hour of the night it was, and even if there had been, I was still too tired and worn to do much so David and I simply hung out together.  My favorite was when he started playing games with me.  Things like hiding under a towel and giggling loudly as I would pretend I didn’t know where he went and call out his name. lol  When he decided he wanted to be found, he stuck his feet out from under the towel and wiggled his toes to get my attention.  Upon me seeing them, I tickled his toes and called out “I found his feet!” to which was met with even more giggling and a quick retraction of his feet.  He also would stick out his hand here, or let his arm show there, and once he stuck out both legs and both arms at once giggling so hard I thought he would fall over laughing. haha

I love my beautiful and joyful little boy so much.  He brings so many smiles into my life and he reminds my heart of what it feels like to be carefree and innocent.  Even with all the struggles he and I face on a daily basis due to his Autism and other disabilities, I will always treasure him deeply.  And the memories of nights like last night and our special little games?  Priceless for all eternity. : )

Leave a Reply

