An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Ending the Silence

Freedom.  “The power or right to act, speak, or think as one wants without hindrance or restraint.” (quote source)

What a definition.  What a concept.  What a gift.  One that a lot of us tend to take for granted from time to time.  Until it gets taken away.

As I am sitting here writing this tonight, I am trying to make a decision.  My freedom to be here on an Autism Diary, and other DogForDavid sites, was taken away a little over a month ago.  Some people wanted to silence us and shut us down and they took some powerful routes in an attempt to do just that.  I have thankfully been able to get help in defending myself and my family and in making the accusers and attackers stand down, but the battle isn’t completely over yet.  Still, as I sit here with a blog, ministry, and facebook page that has remained painfully silent since the middle of September, I ask how much longer can I just stand by and not do something?  Anything?

1379784_409464329154545_129813102_nToday, I was given a sort of limited blessing to return to writing publicly again, but on one condition…  I was asked to behave like nothing was wrong.  That I just hadn’t been on here and that now I am back.  If I would agree to that, then I could easily go back to blogging, sharing, supporting, and chatting as much as I wanted as long as what has been happening to my family never came out into the light.  It would be like nothing ever happened.  I was told this was in my best interest, but I have to say after much prayer and careful thought, I don’t agree that it is.

You see, the problem is, something has happened.  Many things have.  And all though I don’t feel that this blog (or our other sites) is a good place to go into the details of it all, I also feel that I shouldn’t have to pretend this part of our story doesn’t exist as it has been a rather large part of it over the last month.

In the end, I was told the choice was being left up to me.  Play it safe, stay silent, or take the risk and let the truth be heard.  As I wrap up this post, I am deciding to choose the risk.  I will be hitting the publish button on the drafts that have been holding my thoughts and stories over this past month and then I will be hitting publish on this one.

It’s time to break the silence.  It’s time to say what has been happening isn’t right and that I should be allowed to say so.  It’s time to say, “I’m back” and “I am so sorry for my unexplained silence and absence” to all my readers, followers, and fellow Autism families.  It’s time to say thank-you to everyone that has so patiently stood by us during this time; especially to those few who knew what was happening and have offered their loving and encouraging support to help keep me fighting.

It’s time to get back to DogForDavid.

We are back

Links to the hidden posts from the past month:

When the Government says, “No!”

Learning Color Mixing 😀

When the Student Should be the Teacher

A good reason for a cookie 😉

Still here

Antagonize Mommy??? lol

Almost Over

Cleaning House

10 Comments

  1. It’s good to see you are able to write again. You know I’m always here for you! Love you hon!

    • It’s good to be back 🙂 Thank-you for your support ((hugs)) Love you too : )

  2. Proud of you for taking a stand! 🙂

  3. piper kay

    hello – i’m from awesome out loud – autism through a sister’s eyes asked us to share this blog (done) and i just want to say that we support you and are happy to continue to do so on our little page – we also have a new blog starting this week and we are happy to support you through that too! 🙂

    • Thank-you. I truly appreciate it. 🙂

  4. I am so sorry to hear you went through this. Glad you are back!

    • I am grateful to be back too 🙂

      How are you doing by the way? I’ve missed you so much.

  5. very well and working hard on pattern making and getting stock built up for end of year markets. I wondered where you were! 🙂

    • Glad to hear you are doing well 🙂 and best of wishes on your patterns and creations for the markets. I can’t help but think that you will do well. Your stuff is so cool. 🙂 (and cute ^_^ )

Leave a Reply

