An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Brrr…

Have a serious cold front headed our way with wind chills reported to be at life threatening lows.  From what I understand, it’s not supposed to get here until Sunday evening but it definitely is already starting to get cold.  I have been bundled into blankets most of the day due to my body having trouble regulating it’s temp (Ehlers-Danlos issues) and the boys have been running around creating their own heat so to speak by being so hyper and active. lol  Looks like a good time to break out the hot chocolate again for me.  Not sure yet what I am going to do about my sleep protesters yet for the night. lol

Yesterday I ended up falling asleep on them when I tried to rest here on the couch and when I woke up, they had once again trashed the house.  I locked the toys and other things up so I thought it wouldn’t be too bad but they decided to get into the trash can again and also got their books out and spread them around.  Had a few rearrangements of furniture again too.  Mainly the chairs to the kitchen table.  The first thing the boys had to do today when we all got up was clean up their mess.  I wasn’t able to get them to pick it all up due to their distraction levels being so high, but at least a lot of it got done.  I am specifically glad that at least the trash got picked back up again.  I need to start looking into a lockable trash can (this isn’t the first time they’ve dragged the trash out…).  Does anyone know if something like that even exists?

2 Comments

  1. It’s supposed to down to a windchill of thirty five below F here.

    • It turned out to not be as bad as I thought it was going to be here, but it’s still not good. It’s definitely not thirty five below though. I think the official report came out this morning as between 10 and 20 below for us.

      Hope you are able to stay warm and safe.

Leave a Reply

