An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

David and Domino :)

0309141538_blogDavid had another lesson yesterday afternoon with his horse Domino and his teacher.  Although he started off too excited to concentrate and all wound up (even flapping, spinning, and general stimming was present), as usual he started settling down once he was finally in the saddle.  I am still amazed at that effect even though I already knew that I would be able to expect it from him due to our experiences with pony rides at the local park. : )

He made some progress today too.  He rode with his free hand on his leg instead of on the saddle horn for most of the time and also he did his first trotting lesson! 😀   The latter scared him a bit though so he hasn’t been able to master the skill yet.  I am proud of him for sticking it out until the end of the lesson though and also for voicing his fears and requests to change course in the lesson.  He’s not normally able to do that as well as he did today!  And definitely not as clearly!  So proud of my little guy. ^_^

0309141537a_blogAlso, since David opted for just walking for a little longer, next week’s lesson will involve bareback riding if he’s up to trying it.  He’s gotten that reliable with his grip and posture control! 🙂

I didn’t get video like I was hoping to when this day came because I forgot my camera and didn’t have my tablet either.  I did get some pictures though.  Most came out a bit blurry though because I was using my cell phone and he was moving faster than the small cam on there likes. lol  I did include the ones that came out ok though for you all to see. :  )

This one is blurry, but I just had to share it.  That's David trotting! :)  The teacher stayed close just in case since it was new for David. : )

This one is blurry, but I just had to share it. That’s David trotting! 🙂 The teacher stayed close just in case since it was new for David. : )

 

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

