An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Down For The Count

Hey everyone. Jumping on for a few moments to check in. For those that are not aware yet, I got hurt again on Sunday and am now wheel chair bound until further notice (basically until the doctors are able to fix the fractures and damaged ligaments in my foot and ankle). I have a few friends that have stepped up and are helping me keep the art show running and a couple friends specifically who are running my facebook page for me until I am able to take over again.

Today, David and I managed to figure out a way to shove the wheel chair into the front passenger seat (me pulling from the driver’s seat and David pushing from the ground… we were quite the site lol) so I managed to make it to the used book sale I needed to go to today for school supplies. πŸ™‚ Don’t want to try this again any time soon though. I am still in my cast-like splint and my foot and ankle hurt like crazy. On the bright side though, I managed to get a whole lot of curriculum items, books, and learning games and some miscellaneous stuff to help me organize and that provides ideas for teachers for just $24 today. πŸ˜€ Definitely a blessing as what I have easily would cost hundreds of dollars if I tried to buy it from a store or curriculum site. >< Yeah, I much prefer the $24 dollar price instead. πŸ˜‰ Before I headed home though, I have stopped at a local Wi-Fi spot so I could check in. πŸ™‚

As for the art show, I will definitely be at the gallery this Saturday, the 17th, however it is still up in the air about whether or not it will be possible for me to be there for the last two Saturdays. If I can’t though, I promise there will be someone there in my place so that the art show can still be open. I also have a couple last minute items that came in that I will be trying to get hung up and displayed for everyone this Saturday to add to all the other wonderful pieces of art. If you are able, do be sure to stop on by and check out the artwork in person. You will be glad you did. ^_^

I also want to thank everyone for their kindness, prayers, and thoughts during this time. I truly appreciate all of you. Β Good news is that even though I have re-injured the fracture from December that I was never able to get fixed and as a result am wheel chair bound now, this has been enough to get the attention I needed from my insurance company that got the right people on board to help successfully push for a new PCP and hopefully a wheel chair lift for my car so I can be mobile again and prevent further injuries like this in the future. EDS (Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome) has definitely been a tyrant of a health issue for me this last couple of years, but things are starting to look up as I am starting to get the care I need from my medical team. πŸ™‚ Β If you would like to know more about EDS, I highly encourage you to check out theΒ Ehlers-Danlos National Foundation facebook page (or google them). Especially since May is EDS awareness month. πŸ™‚

Well I need to get going for now so I can get back home and put my foot back up (it’s swelling up again from having it down >< ). Thank-you everyone! πŸ™‚ If you want or need to get ahold of me during this time, please message the DogForDavid facebook page and ask them to pass the message on to me or you can check out our Contact Us page for more ways to reach me. πŸ™‚ Thanks and God bless. ❀

Leave a Reply

