An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Tired and Busy

What does one say when there are more questions than answers?
What does one do when there is more chaos than calm?
How does one move forward when the path seems to keep changing?

A lot has been going on in the DogForDavid household lately and it seems for every problem I solve and every need I am able to meet, 3 more spring up in their place.  It has been exhausting and has definitely been taking its toll on me in a number of ways.

Some of it has to do with my needed surgery that keeps getting delayed last-minute because the doctors and home health can’t seem to get on the same page.  Some has to do with struggling to maintain David’s current level and ward off pending regressions that I fear are coming based off of past patterns.

Some of the chaos is surrounding Joshua’s increasing issue with joint subluxations thanks to the Ehlers-Danlos syndrome.  And of course, who can mention Joshua without also noting the never-ending struggle with his attitude and whining.  Don’t get me wrong, Joshua is the sweetest little boy and lovable to a fault (let’s just say more than a few people have been randomly hugged, kissed, or cuddled whether he knew them or not… lol) but man when this kid decides to whine… ><

Then of course there are the issues with my own health… a body that literally can’t handle the stress anymore, but is still constantly under stress, tends to give out and malfunction quite a bit.  That’s never fun… trust me on that.

As much as being down for the count for a few months doesn’t appeal to me, I am almost at the point of eagerly awaiting the surgery for that reason.  At least it would mean I would get some rest.  Maybe?

Leave a Reply

