An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

The white works Mommy!

David's car with white wheelsFor the longest time, my precious little guy would get out all his crayons, and the white computer paper I would give him for drawing and coloring, and set to work creating ’till his heart was content.  It was always just a matter of time before I heard the phrase, “Mommy, the white won’t work! 😦 ”  or  “The white is broken Mommy!”.  He just couldn’t understand that the only reason he couldn’t see it was because he was coloring white on white.  No matter how many ways or times I tried to explain it.

Today though, he had out his new notebook that he now colors in.  He’s been creating entire scenes for me lately and I love it. ^_^  This scene turned out to be our car driving down the road.  When he went to make the wheels, he decided that he would give white one more try.  Next thing I know, I have a very happy and very excited David running up to me shouting, “It works! It works!  Mommy it really works!”  

When he saw the white start to cover up those typical blue lines of the notebook paper he behaved as if he was an explorer who just stumbled upon the find of the century.  And for him, it probably was.  At least until he discovers the next wonder. 😉

4 Comments

  1. mamadestroy

    Stumbling on those little solutions is always such a parenting gift. I especially like that you let your son discover this for himself. It is so important to let them develop confidence that way. Thanks for sharing your story.

  2. LOL! I think every great artist started out with frustration over the inabilities of the white crayola!

    • lol I would say that’s a pretty fair guess to make : )

Leave a Reply

