An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Please forgive my delays

Please forgive me for my lack of updates on here. I know I am behind and will do my best to get back into the regular swing of things soon. I am dealing with a lot of joint problems right now though among some other things and have been in the middle of a battle with my insurance in an attempt to get help with doing something about it. Even as I type this, my pinky and ring finger on my right hand are injured and in a permanent curl at the moment. (I am using the old faithful “hunt and peck” style to type right now to get around that. lol)

The boys are doing well over all and had a great Halloween. Joshua even got excited about costumes this year and allowed me to make him one to wear. πŸ™‚ David being David still wasn’t all that interested, but he did enjoy the candy part and wearing the special cape I made him and I told everyone he was “super David” lol πŸ˜‰ The only down side with the boys lately is I have seen David slipping away from us again cognitively and that always gets to me. He is still happy as ever though, just not very connected to our world anymore compared to how he was. A lot more stimming, echolalia, and preference to immerse himself with his trains, favorite shows, or his art supplies.

I just keep trying to remind myself that he is happy, healthy, and still giving occasional hugs so I haven’t completely lost him yet. Also, he has shown a few times he is still able to connect at least for small moments at a time as he is continuing to learn new things with his schooling. I have just had to adjust how I am teaching him at the moment to accomplish that.

I hope this finds you all having a good morning and that your day treats you well. ❀

2 Comments

  1. No worries; take care of yourself and your family. We’ll patiently wait you out, praying the Lord be with you until we can speak again. πŸ™‚

    • Thank-you so much. I truly appreciate it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

