An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

For Just This Moment

Good morning everyone 🙂 (and good evening to all my friends and readers in different time zones).  I am actually up early for a change vs having been up all night.  The boys just went to bed though after I made them clean up the mess they made while I was asleep.  Nothing was broken though this time and they even stayed out of the trash can. Yay! ^_^  I call that a win over here. lol 😉  Plus, it was nice to be able to get some desperately needed rest on my end.  Finally shook the final symptoms left over from the major migraine I had the other day and I even shook the brain fog I have been struggling with lately. 🙂  I don’t know how long this will last, but I am going to enjoy it for as long as it does. lol

As for the kids, yesterday they made a new friend. ^_^  I am embarrassed to admit that I didn’t think to catch her name (I was  barely awake enough to watch them to keep David from running off or into the street) but I do know that she was kind, gentle, and a lot of fun for the boys.  I got to meet her mom too and it turned out to be the sweet young lady I’ve gotten to see and say a quick hi to around here a few times while checking the mail or emptying the trash.  Glad to discover that she’s in a nearby apartment and also that she has a little girl around the same age as my boys. 🙂

David and Joshua were pretty excited about it all too.  She treated them kindly and with respect, even when they acted different or jumbled a bunch of social cues and situations.  She also brought over her tricycle and scooter and showed them how to ride (thankfully she helped me convince them not to go past our porch/sidewalk boundaries).  Yesterday was a great day to be playing outside too so the timing of them all meeting was perfect. : )  They played for at least an hour if not more and I smiled at all the laughter, giggles, and fun they were having together.

Thinking back to yesterday I can’t help but think about how special and rare moments like those are for my family.  Something that seems to be so regular, nonchalant, and even ordinary for other families is something truly rare and special for us.  Sometimes I admit that thinking of the differences and the challenges can make me tear up or get frustrated, and yes even angry at times.  I am not going to lie, living the special needs life is a hard one.  Between the cognitive, social, and emotional challenges of Autism and the physical ones that Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome bring into the mix, our life is definitely a far cry from what most would call “normal” and sometimes the reality of that hits hard and painfully.

Sometimes though, gratefully all that takes a back burner and I get to just smile and treasure the moment that we are in.  The moment with all the laughter and play.  The smiles and the giggles and the running around with another child completely care free and oblivious of the world’s challenges.  Freedom.  Peace.  Friendship.  Happiness.  Lightheartedness.  For just this moment, we are not the family that struggles.  We are not children who are different and don’t fit in.  We are not a mom who is struggling with mobility and health, trying to make ends meet.  For just this moment, we are just a regular family; playing in the sunlight and enjoying life.  And there is little that’s more precious than that. ^_^

2 Comments

  1. Dawn Marcotte

    There must have been magic in the air yesterday. My 15 year old actually unplugged from her electronics long enough to go outside and build a snowman with her little sister. They were so proud of their work they made me come outside to look. ( I was a little hesitant as I thought they were just trying to get me to come out where they could throw snowballs at me, but they didn’t) These kinds of days are getting fewer as they enter the tween/teen ages.

    • Thank-you for sharing that with me 🙂 Sounds like it was a great day for you as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

