An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Daily Thanks: 16

Thankful for my faith and the freedom to express it as I choose. Thankful for my safety and the safety of my children. Thankful for a life lived in America, as flawed as it can be, as there are many freedoms here not offered in every country. Thankful for the help, both financial and medical, that my family receives from the government even though I wish we didn’t need it. It keeps a roof over our head, food on our table, and doctors at our side. Things I couldn’t provide on my own.

I am thankful for freedom of speech so that I don’t have to agree with popular thought or stay silent. Thankful for the wisdom God has given me to know when it’s best to not use said freedom of speech just because I have it, and when I do use it, to use it with an attitude of kindness and love instead of self-righteousness or hate. Thankful for God’s merciful understanding and forgiveness when I don’t get it right.

Thankful for this life my children and I have been given. With all it’s ups and downs, joys and fears, trials and triumphs, over all it is a beautiful and precious gift to be able to live. Thankful for the blessings of silver linings that make skies of grey easier to bear. Thankful for enough sadness to make the happy moments all the more treasured, enough rain to make the sun more enjoyable, enough failures to keep me humble and make victories more satisfying and sweet.

I am thankful for a heart that can still feel joy and hope even after seeing so much of the opposite throughout it’s 33 years. I am thankful for a God Who loves me enough to hold me and guide me on this path of life; forever teaching, forever leading, so that I don’t have to be left on my own to figure it all out or understand.

Leave a Reply

