An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Mother’s Day 2016

Mother’s Day 2016
 
No breakfast in bed or cards to display
Just two sleepy heads and a “mommy I want to play”.
No special “I love you” or “Happy Mother’s Day” wishes
Just two little boys who still haven’t put up their dishes.
 
Powdered sugar everywhere
from a special breakfast I planned myself.
A stolen hug from my cuddle bears
while once again pulling them off the shelf.
 
Mother’s Day in our house is just another day
No big celebrations, or even recognition of the holiday.
I use echolalia to get a special wish from my sons.
I may never get one unprompted, but I still feel like I won.
 
You see, my kids may not understand
All the hype and the noise
But they love me all the same
And they’ll always be my special boys.
 
And thanks to some friends
and a Mom who understands
I still get remembered
and special gifts still get planned.
 
This year my mom worked with my boys
to surprise me with gifts that has them flapping with joy.
They may need help remembering why,
But seeing them so excited, brings a happy tear to my eye.
 
Mother’s Day 2016 is a day just like the last.
Just like most other Mother’s Days in the past.
Tomorrow is when the fun begins
As that’s when grandma’s packages from the boys come in. ^_^
 
All in all, my holidays may look different
than the ones celebrated by others
But I still find joy in the precious boys
who made me into a mother. ❤
 
 
❤ Happy Mother’s Day to all the mom’s out there! ❤
 
 
.
 
Leave a Reply

