An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Autism is Not an April Disorder

I wrote this piece last year, but I feel it still rings true. By all means, support the Autism community, do what you can to help spread awareness and acceptance, but please, please, PLEASE let your efforts go beyond just a date on the calendar.

An Autism Diary

So it’s that time of year again.  April.  Where most think of spring, rain, flowers, and maybe even Easter when they think of this time of year, the Autism community has something else on their mind as well.  Autism Awareness Month and of course World Autism Awareness Day, which was yesterday.

Over the last handful of years I’ve taken both pretty seriously and dived in with both feet to help intensify the awareness efforts for my son and our local Autism community.  I must admit though that this year I am not so eager to engage.  Is awareness important?  Yes, of course.  Do I still believe we all need to do our part to help others understand Autism?  Absolutely.  Do we still have a mission to help spread acceptance and compassion?  Always.  So why am I not into the big awareness month showcase this year?  Simply put, it’s because I’ve…

View original post 451 more words

Leave a Reply

